Go to main navigation
110 East 59th Street, 23rd Floor, New York, NY 10022
Free Consultation: 212.521.0828 212.521.0828

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

 

LICENSES:

What are the minimum requirements for eligibility to hold a license?

  • Applicants must be US citizens or have permanent resident alien status. In some cases, citizens of countries with reciprocal trade agreements may apply.
  • Applicants must be 21 or older.
  • Applicants must not be convicted felons (unless they have a Certificate of Relief from Civil Disabilities).
  • Applicants cannot be a police officer with arresting powers.
  • A revoked license will disqualify the licensee for a period of two years; if the revoked licensee was a corporation any officer or director may also be disqualified.

What is the Notification to the Clerk/Community Board?

  • All on-premises license applicants must notify the community board or municipality of their intent to file an application. This must be done thirty days before the application is filed with the SLA.
  • There is a standardized form that must be submitted to the community board or municipality provided in the application. What is the Notification of Publication?
  • All applicants for licenses for on premises consumption must publish a notice in a newspaper designated by the County Clerk, once a week for two successive weeks. If the proposed premises are located in the counties of New York, Kings, Richmond, Queens or Bronx, the notice must be published in one daily and one weekly newspaper in the county where the premises are located. If the proposed premises are located in any other county, the notice shall be published in a daily OR weekly newspaper in the county where the premises are located.

Can I qualify for a temporary permit while I wait for my permanent license application to be processed?

  • You may be eligible for a temporary permit depending on where your establishment is located, the type of license and whether you are buying an existing establishment or starting a new business.
  • If the business is located in New York City, you are eligible for a temporary permit if you are buying the business from the current licensee and the business has been open and operating within 30 days of the date you filed the application for the permit.
  • If the business is located outside of New York City, you are eligible for a temporary permit if: (a) you are buying the business from the current licensee and the business has been open and operating within 30 days of the date you filed the application for the permit; or (b) you are starting a new business and it is not a package store, wine store, or subject to the 500 Foot Law.
  • The permit application and fee maybe filed with the Retail License Application or after the license application has been filed. You may not file the permit application before you apply for the license. You should contact the Authority to find out if there are any disqualifications against the location prior to filing. Once the application for the Temporary Retail Permit is filed, the Authority will review the licensing history of the location and all principals as well as fingerprint results for each principal and determine if a temporary application can be approved.
  • Please note that the fee for the Temporary Retail Permit is NON REFUNDABLE.

Are there any restrictions on the location of my premises?

  • Applicants for a liquor store license, wine store license and on-premises license cannot be within 200 feet of a school, church, synagogue or other place of worship.
  • The 500 foot rule only applies to on premises licenses.

In what instances will criminal convictions or administrative actions by the SLA disqualify my application?Individuals not eligible for a license include

  • A person convicted of a felony in NYS, including felony DWI.
  • A person convicted of a crime in another state or federal jurisdiction which would translate to a felony conviction if committed in NYS.
  • A person convicted of misdemeanors under sections 230.20 or 230.40 of the NYS Penal Law or 1146 of the former NYS Penal Law.
  • A revoked license will disqualify the licensee for a period of two years; if the revoked licensee was a corporation any officer or director may also be disqualified.
    • Note: If an executive pardon or a certificate of relief from disabilities is obtained, the convictions are no longer disqualifying in and of themselves, although all convictions may be considered as part of the total merit of the application.

Can you own more than one liquor store?

  • No, one liquor store per person.

If you own a liquor store, can also own a restaurant or invest in a restaurant?

  • Yes, you can own as many restaurants as you want to as well as invest in restaurants.

If you have a retail license such as a liquor store can you also have a wholesale license?

  • No, you cannot have both a retail and a wholesale license.
    Review Our Firm